Share 'Idaho land up for grabs' on Facebook Share 'Idaho land up for grabs' on Twitter

Idaho land up for grabs

Posted on: September 9th, 2013 by Idaho Section

The Idaho Legislature is trying to take public lands, including National Forests, where we love to camp, ride, climb, paddle and ski. No matter how you enjoy the outdoors, this matters to you. That’s why we banded together with other local groups to tell the Legislature this is a bad idea.

Key facts:
• Transferring public lands to state control would be bad for outdoor recreation in Idaho.
• Portions of public lands would be sold off to the highest bidder. For the rest of it, there would be even less money available for trails, roads and firefighting.
• Transferring public lands would hurt the 6.3-billion-dollar Idaho outdoor industry.
• According to 73% of Idahoans, the Federal Government already manages public lands well and the current way works.

Read our letter for more info:Outdoor Recreation Fed Land Transfer – Idaho

And if you want to provide contacts to the Federal Lands Interim Committee, here they all are:

Co-Chair, Former House Speaker Lawerence Denney, R-Midvale ldenney@house.idaho.gov

Co-Chair, Assistant Senate Majority Leader Chuck Winder, R-Boise, cwinder@senate.idaho.gov

Senate Majority Leader Bart Davis, R-Idaho Falls, bmdavis@senate.idaho.gov

Senator John Tippets, R-Montpelier, jtippets@senate.idaho.gov

Senate Minority Leader Michelle Stennett, D-Ketchum, mstennett@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Sheryl Nuxoll, R-Cottonwood, snuxoll@senate.idaho.gov

House Majority Leader, Mike Moyle, R-Star, mmoyle@house.idaho.gov

House Assistant Minority Leader Grant Burgoyne, D-Boise, gburgoyne@house.idaho.gov

Representative Eric Anderson, R-Priest Lake, eanderson@house.idaho.gov

Representative Stephen Hartgen, R-Twin Falls, shartgen@house.idaho.gov

Comments are closed.