Share 'Spitzer Winner Earns Piolet d’Or' on Facebook Share 'Spitzer Winner Earns Piolet d’Or' on Twitter

Spitzer Winner Earns Piolet d’Or

Posted on: April 12th, 2010 by admin

Kyle Dempster, winner of a Lyman Spitzer Cutting Edge Award from the AAC, has earned a Piolet d’Or with teammates Jed Brown and Bruce Normand for their first ascent of the north face of Xuelian West in China. The American-Scottish team was one of two recipients of 2010 Piolets d’Or; the other golden ice axe went to Kazakh climbers Boris Dedeshko and Denis Urubko for their new route on the southeast face of Cho Oyu in Nepal.

Click here to read more about Dempster’s Spitzer Award, their bold climb in the Chinese Tien Shan, and the 18th Piolets d’Or.

Comments are closed.